2018 Teachers of the Year

Georgeanne Gedney, early childhood special education teacher at Linda Vista Elementary, Sara Dickman, dance teacher at CPMA and Lynsey Littlefield, special education teacher/ASB advisor at Mission Bay High School are San Diego Unified's 2018 Teachers of the Year (videos).

2018 Teacher of the YearThe three teachers, along with three Teacher of the Year runners-up and more than 80 site teachers of the year, were honored at the annual Day of the Teacher event held at De Portola Middle School.

Kimberly Allard, science teacher at Vista Grande/Encanto elementary; Jeremiah Labrador, math teacher at De Portola; and Lara Dickens, physics and environmental studies teacher at Patrick Henry High School, were named runners up.

More than 400 guests, including Superintendent Cindy Marten, board trustees, employees and friends and families of the honorees, celebrated the outstanding accomplishments of the district's teachers.

"Teaching is hard work that can be all consuming. This is incredibly rewarding work," said Superintendent Marten. "I think it's difficult to truly understand the nuances of the profession unless you have experienced it first-hand. I spent 17 years in a classroom, so I understand what happens in our classrooms makes our success or failure as a system. And what you all do in the classroom every day is exceptional. Thank you."

The ceremony kicked off with a performance by Sara Dickman's dance students from CPMA. Superintendent Marten and board trustees thanked the teachers, and outgoing SDEA president Lindsay Burningham, expressed her appreciation for their dedication and hard work.

The 2016 and 2017 District Teachers of the Year presented certificates and awards to the new honorees. Each of the new District Teachers of the Year were also featured in tribute videos that were played at the event. All site Teachers of the Year were invited up on stage and congratulated by the board trustees. To close out the evening, event sponsors California Schools VEBA, California Coast Credit Union and Mission Federal Credit Union presented honorees with gifts.

Prior to the ceremony, the district hosted a reception (sponsored by California Schools VEBA, the Standard and the San Diego Education Fund) catered by San Diego Unified's award-winning culinary arts programs at Madison and Morse high schools. Guests snacked on such treats as lobster mac and cheese, prosciutto wrapped melon with mint, and chocolate mousse. Mission Bay High's Gypsy Jazz Quartet provided music.

Media Coverage

CBS 8 - Live - In Studio with Teachers of the Year

NBC 7 - Teacher Spotlight - Sara Dickman

KUSI - Live at TOY Event - Interview with CA Teacher of the Year Jaime Brown