Warning! Editing this pageset section will affect all pages on your website.

2021 California Distinguished Schools

State Superintendent Tony Thurmond Announces 2021 California Distinguished Schools
Posted on 03/19/2021

SACRAMENTO— San Diego Unified’s Challenger, Lewis and Marshall middle schools are among those honored by State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Thurmond today under the 2021 California Distinguished Schools Program. Amid the backdrop of uncertainty and hardship facing all California schools this past year, this recognition is especially remarkable.

The California Department of Education (CDE) identifies and awards eligible schools based on performance and progress on state indicators specified on the California School Dashboard, the state’s accountability and continuous improvement system. Indicators include test scores, suspension rates, and conditions and climate.

“These schools are great examples of California’s commitment to provide outstanding public education for all students, and their data-driven efforts have helped ensure that their students leave with the tools and skills they need to be successful after graduation,” Thurmond said.

“Our thanks go to the entire communities surrounding these schools, including the teachers, administrators, and classified employees as well as the students and their families who, through teamwork, all accomplished this impressive achievement together.”

Sponsored by the CDE and presented by California Casualty, the Distinguished Schools Program recognizes schools for their excellent work in one of two categories: closing the achievement gap and achieving exceptional student performance. Elementary schools and middle and high schools are recognized in alternate years; therefore, awardees hold the title for two years. The list of recognized schools is attached at the end of this press release.

Distinguished Schools represent examples of not just excellent teaching, learning, and collaboration, but also highly successful, data-driven school efforts ranging from professional development to positive behavior intervention.

Also honored as distinguished schools today are the Magnolia Science Academy and Preuss School UC San Diego. Other schools from San Diego County that earned the honor are: Sullivan Middle School in Bonsall Unified, Black Mountain Middle School in Poway Unified, Literacy First Charter in the San Diego County Office of Education, and Diegueno Middle School in the San Dieguito Union School District.

For more information visit the California Distinguished Schools site.